Tag Archives

Archive of posts published in the category: NIOS


ICT Applications


A computer system consists of mainly four basic units; namely input unit, storage unit, central processing unit and output unit. Central Processing unit further includes Arithmetic logic unit and control unit, as shown in the figure:.
A computer performs five major operations or functions irrespective of its size and make. These are

• it accepts data or instructions as input,

• it stores data and instruction

• it processes data as per the instructions,

• it controls all operations inside a computer, and

• it gives results in the form of output.

Functional Units:

a. Input Unit: This unit is used for entering data and programs into the computer system by the user for processing.

Basic Computer Organisation

b. Storage Unit: The storage unit is used for storing data and instructions before and after processing.

c. Output Unit: The output unit is used

Read More